Henry, Oberacker named to CoSIDA Academic All-District team

Henry, Oberacker named to CoSIDA Academic All-District team

2010 CoSIDA Academic All-District teams (PDF)

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. - Golden Eagle senior pitcher Lee Henry and junior outfielder Chad Oberacker have been recognized for their success in the classroom as well as on the baseball diamond. The two Tennessee Tech standouts have been named to the 2010 CoSIDA Academic All-District IV team.

Henry, an education major from Knoxville who sports a 3.31 GPA, currently leads the Ohio Valley Conference with a 2.76 ERA, and is also first in the conference with the lowest opponent batting average. He is second in the OVC in strikeouts per game and is first in hits allowed and runs allowed per game. Henry is 3-3 with one complete game and has struck out 53 batters in 49 innings on the mound, walking just 25.

Oberacker also boasts a 3.31 GPA while majoring in pre-physical therapy. He is a junior from Erie, Pa., and currently ranks second in the OVC in batting with a .437 average. He is first in the league in doubles and tied for first in hits.

Perfect in the field this year in 78 fielding chances, Oberacker leads Tech a with a gaudy .437 batting average. He also tops Tech in at bats (47), runs scroed (47), hits (80), doubles (21) and triples (3). He is second on the team in RBI (48), on-base percentage (.498) and slugging (.634). He leads Tech on the base paths with 11 steals and also ranks as the team's toughest to strike out.

Their selection gives Tennessee Tech 104 Golden Eagles who have been named to CoSIDA Academic All-District IV teams since 1985.

Baseball players making the Academic All-District team include Derek Lane (1987), Steve Arnette (1990), Ben Holt (1991, 1993), Taylor Ralph (1998) and Thomas Nelson (2008). Three baseball players have made the Academic All-America team: Donley Canary (1976), Derek Lane (1987) and Thomas Nelson (2008).

The CoSIDA Academic All-America and Academic All-District is organized and voted on by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA). District IV consists of schools in Michigan, Kentucky, Ohio, Tennessee and Alabama.

A total of 11 baseball players from the OVC were named to Academic All-District teams.

2010 OVC CoSIDA Academic All-District Selections for Baseball
Dustin Brooks, OF - SIU Edwardsville (1st Team)
Wes Cunningham, 1B - Murray State (1st Team)
Kyle Gumieny, P - Southeast Missouri (1st Team)
Jim Klocke, C - Southeast Missouri (1st Team)
Matt Kole, DH - Austin Peay (1st Team)
Drew Lee, SS - Morehead State (1st Team)
Michael Bottoms, INF - Morehead State (2nd Team)
Lee Henry, P - Tennessee Tech (2nd Team)
Ty Nelson, C - UT Martin (2nd Team)
Chad Oberacker, OF - Tennessee Tech (2nd Team)
Cody Terry, INF - UT Martin (2nd Team)