Greene, Cline pace Tech runners in OVC Champiponships

Greene, Cline pace Tech runners in OVC Champiponships

MOREHEAD, Ky. – Seniors John Greene and Rebecca Cline paced the Tennessee Tech men's and women's cross country teams Saturday as the Golden Eagles wrapped up the 2013 season at the Ohio Valley Conference Championships.

The men's squad finished in 11th place, while the women placed 10th in the races held at Eagle Trace Golf Course in Morehead, Ky.

As expected, Eastern Kentucky cruised to the team titles in both events. The EKU men posted a near-perfect score of 16 in the 8K race, while the Colonel women won with 29 points in the 5K race.

In the men's race, EKU's Soufiane Bouchikhi took first place individually with a time of 24:14.06 as the Colonels earned the top four finishes on the way to their 16 points. Belmont (74) placed second, followed by Morehead State (81), Eastern Illinois (107), Southeast Missouri (122), SIU Edwardsville (153), UT Martin (226), Murray State (251), Austin Peay (258), Jacksonville State (258), Tech (278) and Tennessee State (377).

Greene covered the distance in 27:01.48 to place 51st in the field of 91 individual runners. He finished his final season leading the Golden Eagles in every race in 2013.

Freshmen were the next three finishers for the Tech men's squad, led by Daniel Williamson in 57th place in 27:30.70. Jordan Roth was Tech's third finisher, placing 59th in 27:36.18 while narrowly missing his career-best 8K time. Finishing fourth for Tech was Brennan Huber, placing 62nd in 27:46.60.

Tech's next three finishers were senior Matthew Bishop in 68th place (28:10.73), freshman Sam Lariviere in 69th place (28:15.32), and junior Sterling Smith in 70th place (28:20.30). Rounding out the Golden Eagle lineup, senior Nathan Snow completed the run in 32:44.22. It was his first meet in two years after overcoming an illness that had sidelined him for all of 2012 and the first five meets of 2013.

In the women's 5K event, EKU had four of the top 10 finishers on the way to 29 points, followed by Belmont (71), Eastern Illinois (100), Southeast Missouri (104), Murray State (115), Austin Peay (173), Jacksonville State (182), SIU Edwardsville (196), Morehead State (204), Tech (293), UT Martin (322) and Tennessee State (364).

Seniors were the top five finishers for the Golden Eagles, led by Cline in 49th place with a time of 19:52.24. Yeshi Dohrmann was the second place finisher on the Golden Eagle squad, placing 55th in 20:02.97. She was followed by Peri Winborne in 58th place in 20:12.01. Amelia McCoy finished 72nd in 21:11.66, followed by Meghan O'Donoghue in 77th place in 21:39.12, Elizabeth Mitchell in 81st place with a time of 22:24.67, and freshman Claire Cashin in 83rd place in 22:53.98.

Una Britton of Eastern Kentucky was the women's individual winner with a time of 17:42.61.