Golden Eagles prepared for OVC Championship hunt in Muscle Shoals

Golden Eagles prepared for OVC Championship hunt in Muscle Shoals

By Mike Lehman, TTU Sports Information Coordinator

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. – Just one more practice round sits in the way of the Tennessee Tech men's golf team and a chance at the Ohio Valley Conference title. Barely one year removed from a remarkable third place finish in the event, the Golden Eagles head to Muscle Shoals, Ala. for their chance at this year's conference crown.

The 2014 Ohio Valley Conference golf championships will tee-off at The Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at The Shoals in Muscle Shoals, Ala. beginning on Friday. The 54-hole women's championship will be held April 25-27.

The course will be a par 72 for each round, with the yardage running 7,187 yards.

The Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at The Shoals is home to two 18-hole championship courses and lies between the Wheeler and Wilson dams on the Tennessee River. Wheeler Dam is named in honor of General Joseph "Fighting Joe" Wheeler - the only Confederate General to attain the same rank later in the United States Army.

The Fighting Joe course at The Shoals was the first Trail course to break 8,000 yards. Travel + Leisure Golf named Fighting Joe one of the top new courses in 2004. The second course, the Schoolmaster (named for President Woodrow Wilson who was responsible for getting Wilson Dam built and was also known as "The Schoolmaster" of politics), opened in the Summer of 2005.

The OVC Championship will be contested on the Fighting Joe course.

Here's an alphabetical look at the participating teams:

Austin Peay
Eastern Illinois
Eastern Kentucky
Jacksonville State
Morehead State
Murray State
Tennessee State
Tennessee Tech
UT Martin

"The guys have had a very solid year," said head coach Polk Brown. "They've knocked on the door several times this year and they're looking to answer the call this weekend. I think they have an excellent opportunity to bring home the trophy and I believe they will perform very well. I'm excited to see what happens and I know that they feel the same way."

Take a look at this week's expected starting five:

  1. Mitch Thomas (So.)
  2. Lee Whitehead (Jr.)
  3. Mason Griffin (Jr.)
  4. Adam Cunningham (So.)
  5. Bryce Kendrick (So.)

The annual awards banquets will be held following the first round of play on Friday, Apr. 25. The banquets will honor the 10-member All-OVC team as well as the All-Newcomer Team and Freshman of the Year. The OVC Player of the Year, Coach of the Year as well as All-Tournament and Tournament MVP awards will be presented at the conclusion of each championship.