Sutton and Brewer secure spots on the OVC All-Tournament Team

Sutton and Brewer secure spots on the OVC All-Tournament Team

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. – The season might be over, but the accolades keep rolling in for the Tennessee Tech soccer team with a pair of Golden Eagles honored for their postseason excellence. Following play at the 2015 OVC Tournament, senior Taylor Sutton and sophomore Lauren Brewer were both named to the All-Tournament Team.

"We are happy for both Lauren and Taylor for their inclusion on the OVC All-Tournament Team," Tech head coach Steve Springthorpe claimed. "They both represented the team and the University to the best of their ability in the conference tournament. Both players had a tremendous season and deserved the selection for their excellent play in the semifinal game."

Brewer went the distance in TTU's semifinal match against No. 6 Southeast Missouri on Friday, playing in all 90 minutes. Sutton provided a spark off the bench with 66 minutes of action, taking one shot in the playoff affair, a 55th minute chance that just twisted wide right.

Overall, Brewer helped anchor a Tech defense with a tremendous 2015 campaign that saw the 5-foot-6 sophomore start in all 20 contests from the back line, playing in all but eight minutes throughout the entire year. The Golden Eagle defense set a school record, surrendering just 19 goals in 20 matches, wrapping up the year second in the OVC in goals allowed and goals against average.

Sutton capped off her Golden Eagle career with two goals, one assist, and five points this season, providing Tech with one of its biggest goals in program history as well. In TTU's upset win over the University of Alabama on Aug.  30, Sutton broke a 1-1 deadlock with a 63rd minute score, the eventual game-winner. The victory over the Tide was the first ever Golden Eagle win over a school from the Southeastern Conference.


2015 OVC All-Tournament Team
Kelsey Gomez, Morehead State
Makenna Lavatori, Morehead State
Lauren Brewer, Tennessee Tech
Taylor Sutton, Tennessee Tech

Jennifer Antonacci, Southeast Missouri
Kindra Lierz, Southeast Missouri
Kaitlin Kuznacic, Southeast Missouri
Nyomi Devine, Murray State
Ali Critcher, Murray State
Marissa Burroughs, Murray State
Taylor Richerson, Murray State (MVP)