Golden Eagles head to Murray, Ky. for Jan Weaver Invitational

Golden Eagles head to Murray, Ky. for Jan Weaver Invitational

By Mike Lehman, TTU Sports Information

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. – The Tennessee Tech women's golf team will participate in its second straight weekend tournament in Kentucky, heading to Murray for the Jan Weaver Invitational from Friday, Apr. 6 to Saturday, Apr. 7 at Miller Memorial Golf Course.

JAN WEAVER INVITATIONAL: 54 holes (36 Friday, 18 Saturday), located at par-72, 6,017-yard Miller Memorial Golf Course in Murray, Ky. Teams will kick off with an 8:30 a.m. CT shotgun start each day.

GOLDEN EAGLE LINEUP: Competing for the Golden Eagles are junior Hollee Sadler, junior Lindsay Miller, sophomore Shelby Johnson, freshman Isabel York and freshman Kate Mashburn. Competing as an individual is sophomore Arianna Clemmer.

THE COMPETITION: The 14-team field consists of host Murray State, as well as Alabama State, Arkansas State, Austin Peay, Belmont, Bradley, Central Arkansas, Drury, Jacksonville State, Lipscomb, Louisiana-Monroe, Southern Illinois, Tennessee State and Tennessee Tech.

THOUGHTS FROM COACH BROWN: "The women will look to bounce back from our tournament in Eastern Kentucky and look to build some confidence and momentum as we prepare to head into the OVC Championships later this month. We've had some individual success in this event in the past and hope that will translate to some team success. We just hope the weather cooperates in allowing us to play a full 54 holes."

WHAT TO WATCH FOR: The Golden Eagles did not participate in Murray State's spring event last season, but saw golfers earn three top-10 finishes in each of their past two experiences at Miller Memorial Golf Course. Former Tech star Whitney Robertson placed eighth in 2016, a year removed from tying for first place in 2015 (she finished as the runner-up after falling in a playoff). Former Golden Eagle Megan Williamson also earned All-Tournament honors in 2015, tying for fifth place. Both Sadler and Miller boast experience on the course, having participating in 2016's tournament.

Photo by Thomas Corhern