Tech's Bradford first-team, Spangler second as all-OVC women's golf teams announced

Tech's Bradford first-team, Spangler second as all-OVC women's golf teams announced

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- Tennessee Tech junior Megan Bradford has been named first-team and senior Ashley Spangler earned a second-team selection Thursday when the Ohio Valley Conferecne announced the 2009 women's golf all-conference teams.

Bradford is Tech's leading scorer this season, taking a stroke average of 77.1 into the OVC Tournament. She has earned three top five finishes this season and five spots in the top 10 of tournaments. Spangler ranks second on the team in stroke average in 2008-09 at 79.2, with one top five finish and two in the top 10.

For the fourth time in five years Jacksonville State has the OVC Freshman of the Year for women’s golf as Lucia Fernandez was tabbed the award winner for 2008-09. The award, along with the All-OVC and All-Newcomer squads were announced at a banquet following the first day of play at the 2009 OVC Championship.
The OVC Player and Coach of the Year awards will be announced Saturday afternoon following the final round of play at the championship, which is being held at being held at the Crooked Creek Golf Club in London, Ky.

The 2008-09 All-OVC first-team included four players who were honored with some type of award a year ago, including Jacksonville State’s Portia Abbott, who was the lone repeat first-team selection. Also on the team were second-team selections from last year, Jacksonville State’s Ashley Cox and Austin Peay’s Chelsea Harris, and a All-Newcomer selection from last year Murray State’s Joyce Trus. The team was rounded out by Tennessee Tech’s Megan Bradford.

The All-OVC second-team was comprised Fernandez, the OVC Freshman of the Year, Eastern Kentucky’s Gabrielle Andersson, Jacksonville State’s Laura Cutler, Morehead State’s Paige Lausier, Murray State’s Megan McKinney and Tennessee Tech’s Ashley Spangler.

The All-Newcomer Team included the Freshman of the Year Fernandez and Morehead State’s Lausier, who was a second-team All-OVC pick. The other honorees were Murray State’s Morgan Cross, Eastern Kentucky’s Linda Hogberg and Morehead State’s Sara Jackson.

The 2009 OVC Women’s Golf Championship continues with 18 holes on Friday and the final 18 holes on Saturday. Live scoring can be accessed through links at

OVC Freshmen of the Year: Lucia Fernandez, Jacksonville State

OVC Player of the Year: To Be Announced After Conclusion of Championship (April 25)

OVC Coach of the Year: To Be Announced After Conclusion of Championship (April 25)

Portia Abbott, Jacksonville State
Megan Bradford, Tennessee Tech
Ashley Cox, Jacksonville State
Chelsea Harris, Austin Peay
Joyce Trus, Murray State

Gabrielle Andersson, Eastern Kentucky
Laura Cutler, Jacksonville State
Lucia Fernandez, Jacksonville State
Paige Lausier, Morehead State
Megan McKinney, Murray State
Ashley Spangler, Tennessee Tech


Morgan Cross, Murray State
Linda Hogberg, Eastern Kentucky
Lucia Fernandez, Jacksonville State
Sara Jackson, Morehead State
Paige Lausier, Morehead State