Coquerille named CoSIDA Academic All-District for second straight year

Coquerille named CoSIDA Academic All-District for second straight year

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. - Tennessee Tech’s Lacie Coquerille has been named to the 2010 CoSIDA Academic All-District IV first-team, one of seven players from the Ohio Valley Conference recognized. The CoSIDA Academic All-America program is sponsored by ESPN The Magazine.

A junior infielder from Rocky Face, Ga., Coquerille is one of Tech’s leading hitters with a .305 batting average. On the season, Coquerille has 17 runs scored, 12 RBIs, seven doubles and one home run. She also leads the team with a .400 batting average with runners in scoring position. After missing the first two weeks of the season, Coquerille came back to solidify Tech’s second base position where she has a team-leading .994 fielding percentage. Coquerille has made just one error in 156 fielding attempts.

Named first-team all-OVC a season ago, Coquerille is currently on the ballot for all-conference consideration for this season.

Coquerille has been named to the OVC Commissioner’s Honor Roll and Tennessee Tech’s Athletic Director’s Honor Roll every semester since arriving at Tech.

The daughter of Don and Robin Coquerille, Lacie owns a 3.74 GPA while majoring in biology.

Coquerille becomes the 105th Golden Eagle named to CoSIDA Academic All-District IV teams since 1985. She is the 12th member of the softball team to earn the honor and fifth player to earn the recognition more than once.

Previous Tech softball players named Academic All-District include Tuesday Frase (1990), Lisa Johnson (1990), Andrea Roark (1991, 1992, 1993), Mary Beth Coombs (1994), Stacy Hughes (1996, 1997), Amy Ayers (1998), Brandy Henry (2000), LeeAnne Mongar (2002, 2003), Beth Boden (2006, 2007, 2008), Stephanie Fischer (2008) and Kristyn Castanzo (2008).

Of those players, seven – Johnson (1990), Roark (1993), Hughes (1996), Henry (2000), Mongar (2002, 2003), Boden (2007, 2008) and Fischer (2008) – have made the Academic All-America team.

The CoSIDA Academic All-America and Academic All-District is organized and voted on by the College Sports Information Directors of America. District IV consists of schools in Michigan, Kentucky, Ohio, Tennessee and Alabama.

Academic All-District Honorees From OVC Schools
Lacie Coquerille, Tennessee Tech (first-team)
Laura Roberts, UT Martin (first-team)
Paij Lintz, UT Martin (first-team)
Chelsea Cary, UT Martin (second-team)
Brittany Scheer, Morehead State (second-team)
Catie Cozart, Austin Peay (second-team)
Megan Murphy, SIU-Edwardsville (second-team)