#WINGSUP Tennessee Tech Logo

Golden Eagles predicted to finish first in OVC tennis race

Golden Eagles predicted to finish first in OVC tennis race


COOKEVILLE, Tenn. – The Tennessee Tech tennis team is picked to finish first in the Ohio Valley Conference in a poll of the league’s head coaches, and the Golden Eagles have three of the top eight players in the league’s preseason player rankings. The Golden Eagles went 8-0 in conference play last season in route to capturing their ninth OVC championship – their first since 2008. The poll results were announced Friday.

Tech received five first-place votes and 76 points overall, which is six points more than second-place Austin Peay. The Governors received two first-place votes, and Eastern Kentucky, picked third, received one.

Tech’s tennis squad this season is led by Golden Eagle senior Syrym Abdukhalikov, who was voted second in the 2013 OVC Men’s Top 10 Player Rankings. He’s followed by 2012 Co-Freshman of the Year Alejandro Augusto (fourth) and junior Vasily Eremeev (eighth).

Austin Peay's Sean Bailey is ranked first on the Ohio Valley Conference tennis preseason top 10 players list as voted on by the leagues head coaches.

Tech opens conference play at home against Tennessee State in March.

2013 OVC Men's Tennis Predicted Order of Finish

(as voted on by the league's head coaches)

1. Tennessee Tech (5 first-place votes) - 76
2. Austin Peay (2 first-place votes) - 70
3. Eastern Kentucky (1 first-place vote) - 66
4. Belmont - 62
5. Jacksonville State - 48
6. Morehead State - 34
7. Murray State - 30
8. SIUE - 29
9. Eastern Illinois - 26
10. Tennessee State – 9

2013 OVC Men's Top Ten Player Rankings

(as voted on by the league's head coaches)

1. Sean Bailey, Sr., Manitoba, Canada - Austin Peay
2. Syrym Abdukhalikov, Sr., Almaty, Kazakhstan - Tennessee Tech
3. Jasmin Ademovic, Jr., Sarajevo, Bosnia - Austin Peay
4. Alejandro Augusto, So., Madrid, Spain - Tennessee Tech
5. Marten Jonsson, So., Pitea, Sweden - SIUE
6. Dimitar Ristovski, So., Skopje, Macedonia - Austin Peay
7. Igor Santos, Sr., Campo Grande, Brazil - Jacksonville State
8. Vasily Eremeev, Jr., Krasnoyarsk, Russia - Tennessee Tech
9. Nenad Marcec, Sr., Belgrade, Serbia - Jacksonville State
10. Axel Sundberg, Sr., Oslo, Norway - Jacksonville State