Murphy, Dillard earn NABC All-District honors

Murphy, Dillard earn NABC All-District honors

Murphy named to first team, Dillard second team

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. – Tennessee Tech guard duo Kevin Murphy and Jud Dillard now have another postseason honor to shoulder in addition to first-team All-Ohio Valley Conference honors.

Murphy and Dillard were both All-District selections by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) on Wednesday.

Murphy was named to the District 19 first team while Dillard earned a spot on District 19’s second team.

Murphy finished the season with a scoring average of 20.6 points, ranking him 10th in NCAA Division I. The Atlanta, Ga., native also grabbed 5.2 rebounds per contest, dished out 76 assists and snatched 28 steals while hitting 79 three-pointers and shooting 41.6 percent from long range.

He leaves Tech as the school’s second all-time leading scorer and all-time leader in games played.

Dillard averaged 17.3 points per game and led the OVC in rebounding in his junior campaign, collecting 8.5 boards per outing. The Riverdale, Ga., native shot 51.8 percent from the field and was a reliable 82.4 percent from the free-throw line.

The NABC’s District 19 consists of all OVC schools.

The rest of the District 19 first team consisted of Isaiah Canaan (Murray State), Donte Poole (Murray State), Tyler Stone (Southeast Missouri) and Robert Covington (Tennessee State).

The rest of the District 19 second team consisted of Marland Smith (Southeast Missouri), Jeremy Granger (Eastern Illinois), Leon Powell (Southeast Missouri) and Jaron Jones (Eastern Kentucky).