Tech junior Frank Davis named to Academic All-District team

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- Tennessee Tech junior guard Frank Davis was named Thursday to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District IV First-Team as selected by CoSIDA. Davis was the only men's basketball player in the OVC selected to one of the eight All-District squads.

A junior guard from Gainesville, Ga., Davis carries a 3.42 grade point average in exercise science. For making the first-team Davis will now advance to the national ballot for consideration of Academic All-American.

In 21 games this season, Davis is averaging 10.3 points, 1.9 rebounds and 1.4 steals per game while shooting 45.4 percent (54-of-119) from 3-point range. He ranks among OVC leaders in 3-pointers per game and 3-point percentage, as well as steals and scoring.

He is the first Tech men's basketball player to earn the honor since Brent Jolly in 2002, but the Golden Eagle men's basketball team has captured back-to-back OVC Team Academic Awards.

"This award is a reflection of the dedication of our student-athletes, as well as our coaches and staff, to high academic achievement," said Director of Athletics Mark Wilson. "We are extremely grateful that Frank is being recognized individually for his hard work in the classroom, and that the men's basketball team has been recognized as a team for its success with two consecutive OVC Team Academic Awards. These honors are truly well-deserved."

The teams are selected by the College Sports Information Director's of America (CoSIDA), and sponsored by ESPN The Magazine.

During the fall season, Tech had five student-athletes earn Academic All-District honors -- Taylor Askew and Bradley Thompson in football, Teresa Craig in volleyball, and Kathryn Lally and Taren Brown in soccer.

Since 1985, a total of 97 Tennessee Tech student-athletes have earned Academic All-District awards.

To be eligible for nomination, a student-athlete must have reached sophomore academic standing and have at least a 3.30 cumulative grade point average. District IV selections come from schools located within the states of Alabama, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio and Tennessee.