Marcus Edwards receives CSN preseason All-America recognition

Marcus Edwards receives CSN preseason All-America recognition

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- Tennessee Tech senior Marcus Edwards is listed on the College Sporting News 2012 preseason All-America team for the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), released Monday. A month earlier, Edwards was also included on the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) Watch List of top FCS linebackers and last week was named to the College Sports Madness preseason All-America team.

A versatile defender from Alabaster, Ala., Edwards heads into his final season expected to continue as a leader in the Golden Eagle defense which ranked first in the Ohio Valley Conference last season. He ranked third in the OVC in quarterback sacks and seventh in tackles-for-loss.

He is one of seven players from the OVC included on the preseason All-America teams, coming from just three schools -- one from Tech, two from Southeast Missouri and four from preseason favorite Eastern Kentucky.

The Colonels, who will visit Tucker Stadium to challenge the Golden Eagles on Saturday, Oct. 20, featured tackle Aaron Ames on the first-team offense, runningback Matt Denham and guard Patrick Ford on the second-team offense, while defensive back Justin Bell joined Edwards on the third-team defense. Southeast Missouri had tackle Evan Conrad on the first-team offense and Blake Peiffer on the second-team defense.

College Sporting News FCS 2012 Preseason All-America Teams


QB DeNarius McGhee, Montana State, Jr
RB Shakir Bell, Indiana State, Jr
RB Timothy Flanders, Sam Houston State, Jr
FB Eric Breitenstein, Wofford, Sr
AP Jordan Brown, Bryant, Sr
OT Aaron Adams, Eastern Kentucky, Sr
OT Evan Conrad, SE Missouri State, Sr
OG Malcolm Boyd, Liberty, Sr
OG Zach Brackus, Southern Utah, Sr
OC Mike Sellers, The Citadel, Jr
TE Colin Anderson, Furman, Sr
WR Aaron Mellette, Elon, Sr
WR Nicholas Edwards, Eastern Washington, Sr
WR Rodrick Rumble, Idaho State, Sr

DE Ben Obaseki, Indiana State, Sr
DE Blake Oliaro, San Diego, Jr
DT J.T. Cleveland, Sam Houston State, Sr
DT Brent Russell, Georgia Southern, Sr
DL Willie Jefferson, Stephen F. Austin, Sr
LB Matt Evans, New Hampshire, Sr
LB Jeremy Kimbrough, Appalachian State, Sr
LB Keith Pough, Howard, Sr
LB Mike Niam, Wofford, Sr
CB Marcus Williams, North Dakota State, Jr
CB Demetrius McCray, Appalachian State, Sr
SS Darnell Taylor, Sam Houston State, Sr
FS Kejuan Riley, Alabama State, Sr
DB Charles James, Charleston Southern, Sr

KR Kevin Fogg, Liberty, Sr
PR Darius Drummond, South Carolina State, Jr
K Zach Brown, Portland State, Sr
P Jonathan Plisco, Old Dominion, Sr
LS Richard Wright, Liberty, Jr


QB Brad Sorensen, Southern Utah, Sr
RB Terrance West, Towson, So
RB Matt Denham, Eastern Kentucky, Sr
FB Kendall Gaskins, Richmond, Sr
AP Gralyn Crawford, Stephen F. Austin, Sr
OT Blake Matthews, Norfolk State, Sr
OT Patrick Ford, Eastern Kentucky, Sr
OG Earl Watford, James Madison, Sr
OG Danny Kistler, Montana, Jr
OC Gavin Farr, Southern Utah, Jr
TE Justin Perillo, Maine, Jr
WR Richard Sincere, Sam Houston State, Jr
WR Ryan Spadola, Lehigh, Sr
WR Norman White, Villanova, Sr

DE Frank Beltre, Towson , Sr
DE Joseph LeBeau, Jackson State, Sr
DT Zach Minter, Montana State, Sr
DT Cody Larsen, Southern Utah, Sr
DL Marquis Jackson, Portland State, Sr
LB Blake Peiffer, SE Missouri State, Jr
LB Aaron Archie, Indiana State, Sr
LB Wes Dothard, Chattanooga, Jr
LB Jody Owens, Montana State, Sr
CB Daxton Swanson, Sam Houston State , Jr
CB B.W. Webb, William & Mary, Sr
SS Colten Heagle, North Dakota State, Jr
FS Malcolm Bronson, McNeese State, Sr
DB Serge Kona, Duquesne, Sr

KR Fabian Truss, Samford, Jr
PR Terrence Lewis, Alcorn State, Sr
K Tyler Sievertsen, Northern Iowa, Jr
P Patrick Murray, Fordham, Sr
LS Mike Chocholousek, Charleston Southern, Sr


QB Kurt Hess, Youngstown State, Jr
RB Jamaine Cook, Youngstown State, Sr
RB Andrew Pierce, Delaware, Jr
FB Brian Barlow, James Madison, Sr
AP Zach Bauman, Northern Arizona, Jr
OT Billy Turner, North Dakota State, Jr
OT Kadeem Williams, Albany, Jr
OG Chris Howley, Maine, Sr
OG Ricky Archer, New Hampshire, Jr
OC FN Lutz, Indiana State, Sr
TE Kyle Juszczyk, Harvard, Sr
WR Cordell Roberson, Stephen F. Austin, Sr
WR Tyrone Walker, Illinois State, Sr
WR Lanny Funsten, Davidson, Sr

DE Joshua Williams, Chattanooga, Sr
DE Tyler Starr, South Dakota, Jr
DT Chris Burnette, Old Dominion, Sr
DT Caraun Reid, Princeton, Sr
DL Marcus Edwards, Tennessee Tech, Sr
LB Evan Fierson, Illinois State, Sr
LB Stephon Robertons, James Madison, Jr
LB Alvin Scioneaux, Wofford, Jr
LB Jawara Dudley, Stony Brook, Jr
CB Varmah Sonie, Northern Iowa, Sr
CB Jeremy Moore, Georgetown , Sr
SS Jestin Love, Central Arkansas, Jr
FS Jordan Dangerfield, Towson, Sr
DB Justin Bell, Eastern Kentucky, Sr

KR Jordan Wells, SE Louisiana, So
PR Darius Carey, McNeese State, Sr
K Kevin Robb, South Dakota, Jr
P Cass Couey, The Citadel, Sr
LS John Hubbard, Northern Iowa, Sr