Tech's Larry Schreiber on College Football Hall of Fame ballot

Tech's Larry Schreiber on College Football Hall of Fame ballot

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- Former Tennessee Tech All-America runningback Larry Schreiber is listed the ballot for the Football Championship Subdivision of the National Football Foundation (NFF) College Hall of Fame.

Golden Eagle football fans can become members of the NFF, allowing them a vote on the Hall of Fame. The deadline for voting is Friday.

Information on membership can be found at the National Football Foundation website at

Schreiber was the headline player for the Golden Eagles from 1966 to 1969, setting school records which still stand today for most rushing yards (4,421) and most all-purpose yards (5,925). He was a three-time first-team all-OVC selection and was named the OVC Offensive Player of the Year in 1969. As a senior he set school records for most rushing yards (1,522) and most points scored (78) and was voted Associated Press All-America.

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a First Team All-America by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least ten years prior; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football. Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach; won at least 60% of their games; and be retired from coaching for at least three years. If a coach is retired and over the age of 70, there is no waiting period). If he is over the age of 75, he is eligible as an active coach. In both cases, the candidates post-football record as a citizen may also be weighed.

Once nominated for consideration, all player candidates are submitted to one of eight District Screening Committees, depending on their schools geographic location, which conducts a vote to determine who will appear on the ballot and represent their respective districts.

Each year, approximately 15 candidates, who are not selected for the Hall of Fame, will be named automatic holdovers and will bypass the district screening process and automatically appear on the ballot the following year. Additionally, the Veterans Committee (formerly known as the Honors Review Committee) may make recommendations to Honors Court for exceptions that allow for the induction of players who played more than 50 years ago and coaches who have not won at least 60 percent of their games.

Of the 4.72 million individuals who have played college football, only 900 players have earned induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. From the coaching ranks, 194 individuals have achieved Hall of Fame distinction.

Tennessee Tech currently has one member of the College Hall of Fame. Linebacker Jim Youngblood was inducted in 1996.