Tech's Tre Lamb on CFPA Preseason Watch list of top quarterbacks

Tech's Tre Lamb on CFPA Preseason Watch list of top quarterbacks

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- Tennessee Tech's Tre Lamb has been included on a short list of quarterbacks expected to stand out in the Football Championship Subdivision in 2012, the first preseason accolades to come to the defending OVC champion Golden Eagles.

And if the 2012 Quarterbacks Watch List announced by College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) is any indication, it will be quite a year within the Ohio Valley Conference -- the list included four OVC quarterbacks among the 36 signal-callers to receive laurels.

Lamb is joined by Casey Brockman of Murray State, Coty Blanchard of Jacksonville State, TJ. Pryor of Eastern Kentucky and Derek Carr of UT Martin.

Named as the Most Valuable Offensive Player on the Golden Eagle football team in 2011, Lamb also captured the team’s Leadership Award. During his junior season, he set eight school records while ranking among OVC leaders in three categories. He was second in the OVC in passing efficiency, third in total offense and fourth in passing yards per game.

Directing the team to a 7-4 overall record and its first appearance in the NCAA FCS Playoffs, Lamb was 204-for-313 passing for 2,342 yards and 17 touchdowns. He completed 65.2 percent of his passes and finished with a 139.5 quarterback rating. Altogether, he accounted for 2,555 yards of total offense and 23 touchdowns. His records include most touchdowns responsible for (six rushing and 17 passing) with 23, most plays and yards of total offense, with 422 plays for 2,555 yards. His 204 completions were a new standard, and he also topped the mark for the highest pass completion percentage in a season.

• Deaunte Mason, Alabama A&M
• Jamal Jackson, Appalachian State
• Andre Broadous, Cal Poly
• Aramis Hillary, Coastal Carolina
• Gavin McCarney, Colgate
• Sean Brackett, Columbia
• Jeff Mathews, Cornell
• Mike Piatkowski, Drake
• Sean Patterson, Duquesne
• T.J. Pryor, Eastern Kentucky
• Colton Chapple, Harvard
• Kevin Yost, Idaho State
• Matt Brown, Illinois State
• Coty Blanchard, Jacksonville State
• Andrew Shoop, Lafayette
• Riley Dodge, McNeese State
• Trevor Wooden, Missouri State
• Jordan Johnson, Montana
• Zach Lewis, Morehead State
• Casey Brockman, Murray State
• Brock Jensen, North Dakota State
• Cary Grossart, Northern Arizona
• Billy Ragone, Pennsylvania
• Jeff Sinclair, Robert Morris
• Brian Bell, Sam Houston State
• Mason Mills, San Diego
• Brad Sorensen, Southern Utah
• Brady Attaway, Stephen F. Austin
• Kyle Essington, Stony Brook
• Tre Lamb, Tennessee Tech
• Grant Enders, Towson
• Randy Wright, UC-Davis
• Derek Carr, UT-Martin
• Chris Polony, Villanova
• Mike Hoke, Weber State
• Kurt Hess, Youngstown State

College Football Performance Awards will release additional Watch Lists for each position for the next 11 weeks. Positions are:

May 1, 2012 -- 2012 CFPA Quarterback Award Watch List
May 7, 2012 -- 2012 CFPA Running Back Award Watch List
May 14, 2012 -- 2012 CFPA Wide Receiver Award Watch List
May 21, 2012 -- 2012 CFPA Tight End Award Watch List
May 28, 2012 -- 2012 CFPA Defensive Tackle/Defensive End Award Watch List
June 4, 2012 -- 2012 CFPA Linebacker Award Watch List
June 11, 2012 -- 2012 CFPA Defensive Back Award Watch List
June 18, 2012 -- 2012 CFPA Placekicker Award Watch List
June 25, 2012 -- 2012 CFPA Punter Award Watch List
July 2, 2012 -- 2012 CFPA All-Purpose/Kickoff Returner Award Watch List
July 9, 2012 -- 2012 CFPA Punt Returner Award Watch List
July 16, 2012 -- 2012 CFPA Watch List Announced