Marcus Edwards named to preseason CFPA Watch List of FCS linebackers

Marcus Edwards named to preseason CFPA Watch List of FCS linebackers

View Marcus Edwards' 2011 player bio

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- The Ohio Valley Conference leader in quarterback sacks a year ago, Tennessee Tech junior Marcus Edwards has been recognized as one of the nation's premier linebackers in the Football Championship Subdivision heading into the 2011 preseason. A native of Alabaster, Ala., Edwards has been placed on the 2011 FCS Linebackers Watch List by the College Football Performance Awards website.

He is the second Golden Eagle listed on the CFPA Watch Lists this month, following the selection of senior wide receiver Tim Benford.

Edwards is one of four linebackers from the OVC named to the list, joining Tyson Patrick of Eastern Kentucky, Rodney Garrott of Jacksonville State and Justin Woodlief of Southeast Missouri.

The CFPA Watch List of linebackers includes 41 players expected to shine in 2011.

Edwards saw extensive action in all 11 games as a sophomore in 2010, including one start at Austin Peay. He made 15 solo tackles and assisted on 14 to finish with 29 total tackles, including 9.0 tackles-for-loss for 49 yards to rank second on the team and 15th in the OVC. He led Tech and topped the OVC with 7.5 quarterback sacks for 46 yards, and was named the OVC and FCS National Defensive Player of the Week following his efforts against Eastern Illinois when he had 4.5 sacks.

Edwards and teammate DeShawn Harris received public commendation from the Cookeville and TTU Police Departments for helping to apprehend a theft suspect during the spring semester.

The CFPA Watch List of Linenbackers:

• Justin Wray, App State
• Jer-ryan Harris, Ark. Pine-Bluff
• Ryan Davis, Bethune-Cookman
• Ryan Lewis, Bethune-Cookman
• Jordan Ridley, Butler
• Ryan Consiglio, Chattanooga
• Andrae Jacobs, Coastal Carolina
• John Behm, Davidson
• Serge Kona, Duquesne
• Tyson Patrick, E. Kentucky
• Zach Johnson, E. Washington
• Kadarron Anderson, Furman
• Jake Muasau, Georgia State
• Cliff Exama, Grambling
• Ricky Otis, Holy Cross
• Keith Pough, Howard
• A.J. Storms, Idaho State
• Milton Patterson, Jackson State
• Rodney Garrott, Jacksonville State
• Pat Williams, JMU
• Stephon Robertson, JMU
• Mike Groome, Lehigh
• Tanner Rivas, Lehigh
• Jordan Tripp, Montana
• Allen Stephens, Morgan State
• Roger Stewart, N.C. Central
• Corwin Hammond, Norfolk State
• Derek Rose, Northwestern State
• Craig Wilkins, Old Dominion
• Darius McMillan, Richmond
• Will Henry, Sam Houston St.
• Justin Woodlief, S.E. Missouri St.
• Anthony Balancier, Southern
• Devin Ducote, Stephen F. Austin
• Marcus Edwards, Tennessee Tech
• Shomari Clemson, Texas Southern
• Tyler Holmes, UMASS
• Matt Evans, UNH
• A.J. Gross, VMI
• Dante Cook, William & Mary
• Jordan Haynes, Yale

College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) will release a preseason watch list each week until pre-season. The list of remaining release dates is below. Find out more at:

Remaining release Schedule:
2011 Defensive Back Award (June 21, 2011)
2011 Placekicker Award (June 28, 2011)
2011 Punter Award (July 5, 2011)
2011 Kickoff Returner Award (July 11, 2011)
2011 Punt Returner Award (July 18, 2011)