Golden Eagle receiver Tim Benford named to All-America team

Golden Eagle receiver Tim Benford named to All-America team

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- Considered one of the 12 best wide receivers in the nation, Tennessee Tech junior Tim Benford has been named fourth-team FCS All-America for his play during the 2010 season. The team was announced this week by Phil Steele's College Football Preview.

Benford was one of eleven Ohio Valley Conference players listed on the All-America Team as announced on Thursday.

Phil Steele's College Football Preview is one of the nation's most informative preseason football magazines and has always released Preseason, Midseason and Postseason FBS All-American and All-Conference teams. His website,, is also the home to the FCS Regional Magazine and features weekly previews.

The selections included three players on the first-team, three on the second-team, two on the third-team and three on the fourth-team.

Benford, a native of Chattanooga, Tenn., was a repeat first-team All-OVC selection this season. He led Tech and ranked among the league leaders with 50 catches for 812 yards, and tied the school record with 10 touchdown receptions.

The first-team selections were Southeast Missouri State senior running back Henry Harris, Southeast Missouri State senior center Sean Middleton and Tennessee State senior safety Eugene Clifford. The second-team selections were Southeast Missouri State sophomore safety Tylor Brock, Eastern Kentucky junior kick returner Jeremy Caldwell and Murray State junior punt returner Dontrell Johnson. The third-team selections were Murray State senior wide receiver Marcus Harris and Jacksonville State senior offensive tackle Curt Porter. The fourth-team picks were Tennessee Tech junior wide receiver Tim Benford, Eastern Kentucky senior defensive lineman Andrew Soucy and UT Martin senior linebacker Josh Bey.

2010 Phil Steele All-Americans from the OVC
RB - Henry Harris, Southeast Missouri (1st Team)
C - Sean Middleton, Southeast Missouri (1st)
S - Eugene Clifford, Tennessee State (1st)
S - Tylor Brock, Southeast Missouri (2nd)
KR - Jeremy Caldwell, Eastern Kentucky (2nd)
PR - Dontrell Johnson, Murray State (2nd)
WR - Marcus Harris, Murray State (3rd)
OT - Curt Porter, Jacksonville State (3rd)
WR - Tim Benford, Tennessee Tech (4th)
DL - Andrew Soucy, Eastern Kentucky (4th)
LB - Josh Bey, UT Martin (4th)



To view the entire team selected by Phil Steele's College Football Preview, click here.