Taylor Askew voted first-team Academic All-District

Taylor Askew voted first-team Academic All-District

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- Taylor Askew has a couple of streaks going. He has started 20 consecutive games at guard for the Tennessee Tech Golden Eagle football team, and he has now been named first-team Academic All-District three consecutive years.

The junior from Knoxville owns a 4.0 grade point average while majoring in political science, and has been a starter for the Golden Eagles in every game both this season and last.

"Taylor is a first-class young man, and with a 4.0 GPA he should be recognized," said TTU head coach Watson Brown. "I'm glad for him because I think he is absolutely deserving."

Earning the first-team distinction means his name will advance to the national ballot for Academic All-America consideration.

He is part of an offensive line that ranks among national FCS leaders in fewest sacks allowed, and helped the Golden Eagles bring home the 2009 Sgt. York Trophy by going 3-0 against the league's in-state schools.

Askew has been named to the TTU Athletic Director's Honor Roll all six of his semesters. The winner of the OVC Academic Medal of Honor for posting the highest GPA in the league among all conference football players each of the past two years, Askew was also named to the OVC Commissioner's Honor Roll the last two seasons.

A 2006 graduate of The Webb School in Knoxville, Askew helped his high school team to the TSSAA state playoffs and a runnerup finish in 2005. A verstile prep athlete, he also lettered in track & field, wrestling and lacrosse, and was was captain of both the football and lacrosse teams.

He is the son of Jerry and Robyn Askew of Knoxville.

The Academic All-District and Academic All-America teams are selected by the College Sports Information Director's of America (CoSIDA), and sponsored by ESPN The Magazine.

Since 1985, a total of 101 Tennessee Tech student-athletes have earned Academic All-District awards.

Askew's selection gives the Tech football program a total of 25 Academic All-District selections. Previous football winners are Barry Wilmore (1985), Andy Rittenhouse (1985, 1986, 1987), Joel Chandler (1986), Clark Rickey (1987), Spencer Hissam (1990), Ted Lockerby (1991, 1992), Scott Trent (1995), Jeff Norman (1997), Wes Gallagher (1997, 198, 1999), Nick Solomon (2000), Grant Swallows (2001), Trey Perry (2002), Brett Vavra (2004), Jon Mahan (2005), Taylor Askew (2007, 2008 and 2009) and Bradley Thpmpson (2007, 2008).

Askew and the Golden Eagles will be in Athens, Ga., Saturday to face the Georgia Bulldogs. Georgia's Homecoming game kicks off at 1 p.m. EST (noon in Cookeville).