Tech fans beat the heat at Jamestown Purple Pride Caravan

Tech fans beat the heat at Jamestown Purple Pride Caravan

JAMESTOWN, Tenn. - High temperatures and rising humidity proved no match for the excitement and buzz surrounding Tennessee Tech's first Purple Pride Caravan of the year Tuesday evening, as residents and fans from Jamestown joined in the fun at the local Walmart.

Three lucky fans won drawings and received Tennessee Tech memorabilia, and one person qualified for the drawing to win a trip for two to the Tech-Wisconsin football game in the Golden Eagle Flyaway, sponsored by Kiss 98.5 FM.

Following its stop in Jamestown, the Purple Pride Caravan will also visit Smithville, Carthage, Crossville, McMinnville, Livingston, Sparta and Cookeville before wrapping up at the Algood Walmart on Aug. 27, just two days before the Golden Eagle season opener in Tucker Stadium on Aug. 29.

For additional information on the caravan or to purchase season tickets for the upcoming football season, call (931) 372-3940.

The 2013 Purple Pride Caravan schedule and locations:
-Tuesday, July 9th - Jamestown Walmart
-Thursday, July 18th - Smithville Walmart
-Tuesday, July 23rd - Cookeville Hometown IGA
-Thursday, July 25th - Carthage Walmart
-Thursday, Aug. 1st - Sparta Walmart
-Tuesday, Aug. 6 - Livingston Jerry's IGA
-Thursday, Aug. 8th - McMinnville Walmart
-Thursday, Aug. 15th - Crossville Walmart
-Thursday, Aug. 22nd - Cookeville Walmart
-Thursday, Aug.27th - Algood Walmart

Some snapshots from the Jamestown Purple Pride Caravan:

Former Tech football player Baxter Wilson, hat winner Anna Hayes, Eric Mick of
Pepsi, men's tennis head coach Kenny Doyle, tennis ball winner Darrell Farris,
Zack Ledbetter of Cookeville Communications, Awesome Eagle.

Zack Ledbetter of Cookeville Communications, Associate A.D. for Development
Kevin Bostian, men's tennis head coach Kenny Doyle, Eric Mick of Pepsi, baseball
jersey winner Avery Wood, Awesome Eagle, Amy Wood.

Director of Corporate Sales and Marketing Leveda Birdwell, Rae Rae of Kiss 98.5 FM,
tennis ball winner Ben Hall, t-shirt winner Matthew Crabtree, Eric Mick of Pepsi.

Photos by Jocelyn VerVelde