Five different teams represented in 2013 Hall of Fame Class

Five different teams represented in 2013 Hall of Fame Class


COOKEVILLE, Tenn. – The 2013 Tennessee Tech Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony will interest a lot of different fan groups as five former student-athletes from five different sports will be honored at the 39th annual Hall of Fame Dinner on Friday, Oct. 25.
The five selected for induction, each of whom ranked among the very best in their sport, include Kylie Crouch (women’s golf), Stephanie Dallmann (softball), Wes Gallagher (football), Lupita [Hernandez Zapata] York (women’s tennis), and Damien Kinloch (basketball).

The 2013 Hall of Fame Class will be honored during Homecoming weekend, Oct. 25-26. The induction will take place at the Hall of Fame Dinner Friday evening, and the group will also recognized at the Homecoming football game Saturday, Oct. 26, against Jacksonville State.

This year’s inductees, in alphabetical order, are:

  • Kylie Crouch – A four-year letterwinner on the women’s golf team, Kylie set the program standard by earning a total of 12 all-tournament honors over the course of her career, more than any other player in team history. A two-time team MVP, she helped coach Bobby Nichols’ team win back-to-back OVC Championships in 2000 and 2001, earned all-OVC honors twice and was named to the OVC all-tournament team. The Sparta, Tenn., native, returned in 2008 to serve as a volunteer assistant coach with the TTU golf teams for four years.
  • Stephanie Dallmann – One of only two players in program history to earn first-team all-OVC honors all four seasons, Stephanie piled up a lengthy list of honors including OVC Player of the Year, two-time all-region, three-time OVC all-tournament, two-time team MVP and Tennessee Tech’s 2003 Female Athlete of the Year. With the speedy Dallmann hitting in the leadoff spot, the Golden Eagles rolled to Ohio Valley Conference tournament championships in 2003 and 2005 and an astounding 65-17 record against OVC foes. Overall, Dallmann led Tech to a 161-94 record, and two appearances in the NCAA Tournament.
  • Wes Gallagher – Wes is the only player in program history to earn All-America AND Academic All-America honors. He stamped his place among the Tennessee Tech football greats, leaving his Golden Eagle tenure (1996-99) as one of the most decorated offensive lineman in program history. A four-year letterman, he earned three straight all-Ohio Valley Conference honors. He was also a three-time Academic-All-District pick.
  • Lupita Hernandez – Lupita ranks as the most successful player in Tennessee Tech women’s tennis history. She was a four-time all-OVC selection, a two-time OVC Player of the Year selection, and shared the 2002 honor as Tennessee Tech’s Outstanding Female Athlete. She led the Golden Eagles to the school’s only OVC championship in women’s tennis. With her leadership, the Golden Eagles posted an overall 25-3 OVC record from 1998-2002, including undefeated marks in two of those seasons, and a 58-29 overall record in dual matches over that four-year span.
  • Damien Kinloch – Damien racked up numerous awards and accolades in his two shorts seasons as a Golden Eagle. He helped lead Tech to the 2001-02 Ohio Valley Conference regular season championship as well as an appearance in the 2002 National Invitational Tournament Quarterfinals. In just two years, he piled up over 1,000 points and 500 rebounds, and blocked 77 shots. In addition to being named OVC Newcomer of the Year, he also was a two-time recipient of first-team all-OVC honors, and was twice named all-region and OVC all-tournament.

In-depth information on each of the four inductees will be announced in October as the ceremony approaches.

Tickets to the Hall of Fame Dinner and the Homecoming football game are available by calling (931) 372-3940, or through the Athletics ticket office in Eblen Center. Reservations must be made for the dinner, and tickets are $25 each.