Tech nets 101 on OVC Honor Roll and 14 Academic Medals; Football tops in OVC

Tech nets 101 on OVC Honor Roll and 14 Academic Medals; Football tops in OVC

Golden Eagle football team claims
OVC Team Academic Achievement Award

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. – Tennessee Tech placed 101 student-athletes on the Ohio Valley Conference Commissioner’s Honor Roll for the 2012-2013 academic year, with 14 Golden Eagles earning the OVC Medal of Honor for posting the highest grades in their sport. In addition, the Golden Eagle football team won the OVC Team Academic Achievement Award for their sport.

The honors were announced Thursday by the league office.

"We are extremely proud of the academic success of our student-athletes and our teams,” said Director of Athletics Mark Wilson. “I congratulate each of them for being named to the OVC Commissioner's Honor Roll, winning the Medal of Honor, and earning the Team Academic Achievement Award.

"Student-athletes at Tennessee Tech truly personify the meaning of the term,” Wilson said. “Success within the academic realm is expected consistently, and these awards represent the standard that has been set for both athletic and academic performances at Tennessee Tech."

Several Golden Eagle teams led the league or were near the top of their sport for the number of student-athletes on the list. Tech’s football team paved the way with 19 athletes making the honor roll, leading the conference with the most players named to the list.

"Individually and as teams, our student-athletes, coaching staffs and administration are doing an outstanding job of keeping their focus on academic achievement," said TTU Faculty Athletics Representative Dr. Jeff Roberts.

The Medal of Honor, given to the student-athlete who achieves the highest grade point average in a conference-sponsored sport, went to 14 TTU athletes.

The league also announced that Tennessee Tech's football team is the recipient of the OVC Team Academic Achievement Award. The team awards are presented annually in each of the 16 Conference-sponsored sports to the member institution's team with the greatest percentage of its eligible student-athletes who achieved a 3.25 grade point average or higher.

The team/institution honorees are:
Baseball: Belmont                                                                    
Men's Basketball: Belmont                                                       
Women's Basketball: Southeast Missouri                                 
Men's Cross Country: SIUE                                                     
Women's Cross Country: Belmont and UT Martin                      
Football: Tennessee Tech
Men's Golf: Belmont                                                                
Women's Golf: SIUE                                                                
Rifle: Murray State
Women's Soccer: Belmont
Softball: Jacksonville State
Men's Tennis: Austin Peay and Jacksonville State
Women's Tennis: SIUE
Men's Track and Field: Belmont
Women's Track and Field: Belmont
Women's Volleyball: Austin Peay

Two women participating in two sports each during 2012-2013 earned multiple Academic Medals of Honor --  Beth Miller and Meghan O'Donoghue each earned the honor in both cross country and track & field.

Tech’s other 2012 OVC Medal of Honor winners are: Tim Graham (baseball), Dennis Ogbe (men's basketball), Kellie Cook and Kylie Cook (women's basketball), Adam McLeod (men's cross country), Elizabeth Miller and Meghan O'Donoghue (women's cross country), Seth McDonald and Patrick Prewitt (football), Samantha Cook and Brittney Spalding (softball), Miller and O'Donoghue (women's track), and Ashleigh Hancock (volleyball).

The 101 Golden Eagles listed on the Commissioner's Honor Roll:

Baseball (13)
David Allen
Justin Alexander
Tristan Archer
Dylan Bosheers
Tim Graham
Zephan Guyear
Jacob Honea
Nick Price
Tevis Sherfield
Ross Spurgeon
Brandon Thomasson
Andy Williams
Zach Zarzour

Basketball (4)
Ammanuel Diressa
Mitchell Hill
Matt Marseille
Dennis Ogbe

Women’s Basketball (5)
Katherine Barker
Kellie Cook
Kylie Cook
Lashay Davis
Jala Harris
Candace Parson

Cross-Country (4)
Kolbe Andrzejewski
Matthew Bishop
Nathan Livesay
Adam McLeod

Women's Cross-Country (8)
Kendale Caldwell*
Rebecca Cline*
Kathryn Forbes*
Landry Loving*
Amelia McCoy*
Elizabeth Miller*
Meghan O'Donoghue*
Peri Winborne*

Football (19)
Radir Annoor
Michael Baker
Stephen Bush
Carter Crutchfield
Brett Dillard
Neil Gannaway
Christopher Harris
Taylor Hennigan
Marty Jones
Jerry King
Cody Matthews
Brannon McCoin
Seth McDonald
James Normand
Patrick Prewitt
J.T. Rankin
Randall Reeves
Conor Sparkman
Parker Teeter

Golf (3)
Tanner Garland
Mitchell Thomas
Lee Whitehead

Women’s Golf (4)
Katherine Bell
Allison Geer
Amanda Randolph
Megan Williamson

Soccer (13)
Taylor Blazei
Jordan Brown
Kris Cambron
Leigh Heffner
Taylor Hicks
Ellie Iaciofano
Amanda Koch
Kelsey McGohan
Andrea Meloff
Hayley Morton
Katie Phillips
Jacquie Watkins
Jessica Wilson

Softball (13)
Samantha Cook
Christian Gibbs
Claudia Harke
Taylor Ketchum
Danielle McHugh
Angi Sakamoto
Brittney Spalding
Chanelle Spalding
Madison Taylor
Erica Tuck
Hannah Weaver
Mekenzie Weems
Katie Whetstone

Tennis (5)
Alejandro Augusto Bueno
Alvaro Cintas Canto
Vasily Eremeev
Othon Lima
Arturo Santa Ruiz

Women’s Track and Field (16)
Madison Borden
Kendale Caldwell*
Rebecca Cline*
Kathryn Forbes*
Hailee Hayes
Margarett Holder
Erin Keyes
Brooklyn Kimball
Landry Loving*
Katherine Lowery
Amelia McCoy*
Elizabeth Miller*
Meghan O'Donoghue*
Haley Wennerstrom
Peri Winborne*
Lacy Yslas

Volleyball (7)
Madison Comperry
Ellen Conti
Kelsey Gray
Ashleigh Hancock
Madison Keyes
Audrey Lewis
Natalie Penrod

* indicates athlete participated in more than one sport