Tech nets 96 on OVC Honor Roll and 16 Academic Medals; Two teams top Academic lists

Tech nets 96 on OVC Honor Roll and 16 Academic Medals; Two teams top Academic lists

Golden Eagle softball and men's basketball claim
OVC Team Academic Achievement Awards

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. – Tennessee Tech placed 96 student-athletes on the Ohio Valley Conference Commissioner’s Honor Roll for the 2011-2012 academic year, with 16 Golden Eagles earning the OVC Medal of Honor for posting the highest grades in their sport. In addition, two Golden Eagle teams -- softball and men’s basketball -- won OVC Team Academic Achievement Awards.

The honors were announced Thursday by the league office.

"Student-athletes at Tennessee Tech truly personify the meaning of the term,” said TTU Director of Athletics Mark Wilson. “Success within the academic realm is expected consistently, and these awards represent the standard that has been set for both athletic and academic performances at Tennessee Tech."

"We are extremely proud of the academic success of our student-athletes and our teams,” he said. “I congratulate each of them for being named to the OVC Commissioner's Honor Roll, winning the Medal of Honor, and earning the Team Academic Achievement Award.”

Several Golden Eagle teams led the league or were near the top of their sport for the number of student-athletes on the list. Tech’s softball team paved the way with 16 athletes making the honor roll, also leading the conference with the most players named to the list. Several other Golden Eagle teams placed in the top two for having the most student athletes claiming the honor roll. Men’s basketball (4) and women’s track & field (14) also showed league best numbers.

"Individually and as teams, our student-athletes, coaching staffs and administration are doing an outstanding job of keeping their focus on academic achievement," said TTU Faculty Athletics Representative Dr. Jeff Roberts.

The Medal of Honor, given to the student-athlete who achieves the highest grade point average in a conference-sponsored sport, went to 16 TTU athletes, the third-largest total in school history. 

The league also announced that Tennessee Tech's softball and men's basketball teams are the recipients of OVC Team Academic Achievement Awards. The team awards are presented annually in each of the 16 Conference-sponsored sports to the member institution's team with the greatest percentage of its eligible student-athletes who achieved a 3.25 grade point average or higher.

The team/institution honorees are:

Baseball: Murray State
Men's Basketball: Tennessee Tech
Women's Basketball: Eastern Illinois
Men's Cross Country: Murray State
Women's Cross Country: Southeast Missouri State
Football: Eastern Kentucky
Men's Golf: SIU Edwardsville
Women's Golf: Austin Peay
Rifle: Morehead State
Women's Soccer: Jacksonville State
Softball: Tennessee Tech
Men's Tennis: Austin Peay
Women's Tennis: UT Martin
Men's Track and Field: Eastern Kentucky
Women's Track and Field: Morehead State
Women's Volleyball: Morehead State

Two women participating in two sports each during 2011-2012 earned multiple Academic Medals of Honor -- Leah Bradley and Meghan O'Donoghue earned the honor in both cross country and track & field.

Tech’s other 2012 OVC Medal of Honor winners are: Tevis Sherfield (baseball), Kellie Cook (women's basketball), Adam McLeod (men's cross country), Elizabeth Miller (women's cross country), Ben Davis and Cody Matthews (football), Hayley Morton and Lindsey Reed (women's soccer), and Brooke Basten, Holly Thomas, Mekenzie Weems and Emma Woo (softball). 

Tech’s 96 members of the OVC Commissioner’s Honor Roll are:

Baseball (7)
Tristan Archer

Zephan Guyear

Chad Hayes

David Hess

Nick Price

Tevis Sherfield

Andy Williams


Men’s Basketball (4)
Mitchell Hill

Riley Hunley

Dennis Ogbe

Zac Swansey


Women’s Basketball (5)
Katherine Barker
Kellie Cook
Kylie Cook

Jala Harris
Molly Heady


Men’s Cross-Country (5)
Kolbe Andrzejewski
Matthew Bishop

Michael Mahan
Adam McLeod

Matthew Pennycuff


Women’s Cross-Country (8)
Leah Bradley
Brittney Brown
Rebecca Cline

Traci Jones
Elizabeth Miller
Meghan O'Donoghue
Emily Weinzetl
Peri Winborne


Football (11)
Matt Brown
Stephen Bush
Ben Davis
Dwight Evans
Cody Matthews
Cory McDonald
Seth McDonald
William Stevens
Ryan Tilghman

Charles Stevens

Corey Watson


Men’s Golf (1)
Tyler Cassetty


Women’s Golf (1)
Brandy Van Etten


Women’s Soccer (9)
Chris Cambron
Michelle Decker
Taylor Hicks
Brooklyn Kimball

Chelsea Ladd
Andrea Meloff

Hayley Morton
Katie Phillips
Lindsey Reed


Softball (16)
Brooke Basten
Emily Burch
Hannah Eldridge

Samantha Everett
Kayla Floyd
Cassie Garrett

Christian Gibbs
Claudia Harke
Taylor Ketchum
Angi Sakamoto
Brittney Spalding
Tyler Templet
Holly Thomas

Erica Tuck

Mekenzie Weems
Emma Woo


Men’s Tennis (5)
Alejandro Augusto

Vasily Eremeev

Ezequiel Gils

Justin Kirstein

Artem Tarasov


Women’s Track and Field (14)
Madison Borden

Leah Bradley

Brittney Brown

Kendale Caldwell

Rebecca Cline

Rebecca Forbes

Margarett Holder

Traci Jones

Brooklyn Kimball

Katherine Lowery
Meghan O'Donoghue
Jenna Philpott
Elisa Tanksley

Emily Weinzetl

Volleyball (10)
Madison Comperry

Ellen Conti
Kelsey Gray
Ashleigh Hancock

Madison Keyes
Allison May
Natalie Penrod
Elise Robertson

Courtney Smith
Lauren Stiles