#WINGSUP Tennessee Tech Logo

Looking Back: A peek into the Golden Eagle photo archives

Looking Back: A peek into the Golden Eagle photo archives

Note: Each week, the TTU Sports Information Staff will dig into the school's rich Photo Archives and publish a photo from the past. Some of the photos will include identification, but sometimes Tech will ask for viewers' help in identifying the people shown in the photo. To submit missing identification or comments about the photos in this series, send an email to: sportsinfo@tntech.edu.

Featured this week: It was a night to celebrate academic and athletics achievements by three Tech student-athletes during halftime of a Golden Eagle basketball game in Eblen Center back in the 1986. Former Ohio Valley Commissioner Jim Delaney (second from left/now Big 10 Commissioner) visited Cookevile to present the awards along with Director of Athletics David Larimore (far left). Two proud coaches, volleyball 's Sharron Bilbrey and baseball field boss David Mays, stand to the right in the photo.

The student-athletes honored were Becky Murray (third from left), who was recognized as the OVC Southern Division Player of the Year for 1986; Kevin Kalen, an OVC Scholar-Athlete selection for 1986-87; and Angie Duncan, who was named to the all-OVC volleyball squad in addition to being voted a two-time CoSIDA Academic All-America.

Becky Murray has since been elected to the TTU Sports Hall of Fame, while both Larimore and Mays are now in the OVC Hall of Fame.